Daily Prompt: The Spice Of Success

If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?

The spice of success for me would be chilli and the failure to eat certain types I happily accept!

I like my food to have lots of flavour and certain dishes do need a greater degree of pepper, beyond your ordinary black or white pepper.

However, there are certain levels and types of spice which I am afraid simply do not agree with my constitution.  To much chilli and my internals rebel and I in turn suffer the price of my daring or stupidity, depending on how you wish to see it.

Certain chili peppers that are notorious for their heat, I simply would not even attempt to try today, having learnt my lesson with their lesser relatives over the years.

Wasabi and horseradish are also not for me.  I remember the first time I tasted wasabi. the sensation hit me in my nasal area, with an intensity I can only  liken to  smelling salts (if you have ever smelt them?), it was weird and I hated it!

Likewise, it is the same with success. Success can be measured and attained in many ways but most would perceive success to be a combination of wealth and achievement. But not all success would agree with me.

Some people will attain success at any cost, regardless of who gets hurt in the process. That is not me. I never ever had a ruthless streak.

Success can also be at the expense of health. Just as there was a consequence for me, if I choose to ignore my bodies reaction to certain spices, so it can be with Success.  Success in line with who you are and your integrity is important.

I really appreciate it when there is balance in the spicing.  I can taste the flavour of the food itself that I am eating as well as appreciate the taste and flavours of the spices used to season it.  I love the kick of the right amount of chilli that gives heat but still allows you to taste what you are eating. So much better than than an overwhelming fire that leaves your eyes watering and the desperate need for water. My hottest experience, left me coughing and words failed me completely.

So success, not all success or spicing is for me:-)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-spice-of-success/

Leave a Reply

